The Neurology services at L.T.M.G. hospital was started by Dr. Rajani Karunakaran in 1994, continued by Dr Uma Sundar, (currently Professor Medicine) after1998 until recently. She has put in a lot of time and effort to set up Neurology OPD and Indoor services. With the help of post graduate students, senior teachers, and staff, the Department of Medicine had been offering Neurology treatments to the institution's needy patients, such as stroke thromobolysis, IVIgG therapy, and Botulinum toxin therapy.

Dr. Dnyaneshwar Asole has joined as a full-time assistant professor of neurology, initially on a contract basis, and then on a permanent basis beginning in 2019. The attempts to establish a separate department of neurology were initiated under the strong leadership of honourable Dean Dr. Mohan Joshi.

Dr. Anil Venkitachalam has joined as senior consultant in neurology since March 2021 and is presently the head of the department of neurology. We continue to provide OPD, IPD and referral neurology services including stroke thrombolysis, Botulinum toxin therapy. New staff and senior registrars are also appointed recently to run electrophysiology laboratory. We are in the process to start the super speciality DNB Neurology programme at L.T.M.G. hospital.