The department of Gastroenterology was established in 1990, being led by Prof. S A Nanivadekar, Prof Prabha Sawant, Dr. Akash Shukla and now by Dr Meghraj Ingle. However, Gastroenterology services were being provided in this hospital since 1977 under the leadership of Prof. S A Nanivadekar. 

The department started its DM training programme in Gastroenterology in 1990 and got recognition in 1992. This programme produces very well trained and committed doctors who are leaders in the field of gastroenterology.